Quotations from P G Wodehouse are copyright of, and reprinted by permission of, the Trustees of the Wodehouse Estate © 2017 The P G Wodehouse Society (UK)

The P G Wodehouse Society (UK)

The P G Wodehouse Society (UK) exists to promote the enjoyment of the greatest humorous writer in the history of the English language. A man who wrote more than 70 novels over a period of more than 70 years, who wrote in excess of 300 short stories, contributed at least 800 pieces to about 80 journals and who, by writing more than 200 lyrics for musical comedies, is acknowledged to be one of the founders of the modern stage-musical, can hardly be described in less flattering terms.


Principal Objective

To ensure members can derive the greatest possible fun and pleasure from the wide variety of P G Wodehouse's work, by publications, articles, films, stage productions, radio and television programmes, group discussions, outings, debates, lunches and dinners.


The Subscription Year is from 1 June to 31 May and the subscription is £22.

Click here to go to the membership application form

Specific Activities

A subscription to The P G Wodehouse Society will entitle you to:

Organising Committee

Tim Andrew – Social functions

Hilary Bruce – Chairman

Sir Edward Cazalet – Committee member

Christine Hewitt – Membership Secretary

Paul Kent – Entertainment

Elin Murphy – Editor, Wooster Sauce

Ian Walton – Treasurer

Tony Ring – Special publications and events

Mike Swaddling – Website editor

Lesley Tapson – Committee member

Oliver Wise – Committee member

Society Remembrancer

Norman Murphy

Society Patrons

HRH The Duke of Kent KG

Sir Alan Ayckbourn CBE

Henry Blofeld OBE

Simon Brett

Ann Briers

Simon Callow CBE

Lara Cazalet

Nicholas Colicos

Stephen Fry

Murray Hedgcock

Lady Hornby

Richard Ingrams

Martin Jarvis OBE

Boris Johnson

Lord Lloyd-Webber

Nigel Rees

Griff Rhys Jones

Rt Hon Lord Scott

Godfrey Smith

Dr Shashi Tharoor MP

Lucy Tregear

Tony Whittome